Themeworld

Plant species for garden ponds

Which plant species are the right ones for your pond?

You can choose your marsh zone pond plants, according to your colour preference, but will need to consider some general points about plant selection.

What is beautiful?

Firstly, of course, your personal aesthetic perception is important. Flower colours and shapes and plant growth is completely a matter of your own taste. A sensible approach is to read about the flowering periods of the plants and to establish a planting plan to make sure that not everything is flowering in one go but successively.

Useful pond plants

Even more important than beauty is the benefit you get from the plants. Which plants absorb a higher level of nutrients from the water to keep the algae down? Which plants clean the water and which ones provide shade etc.?

Underwater plants

Watermilfoil (Myriophyllum) has an antibiotic effect and decreases the bacterial count in the water to reduce the fish’s risk of infection! It gives them a better immunity.

Myriophyllum

Cultivation in greenhouses and deliveries in plant containers mean you can plant from spring to autumn nowadays. The only limits are set by frost and autumn withering.

Start by planting the deep zones of your pond. You’ll still be able to walk over the marsh zone without damaging the plants to reach the deeper areas. Hornwort (Ceratophyllum demersum) is a fast growing underwater plant which also hibernates in the pond bottom.

Ceratophyllum demersum

The watermilfoil (Myriophyllum spicatum), as already described, has an antibiotic and detoxifying effect. The waterweed species (Egeria densa and Elodea canadensis) grow very fast and thus extract a lot of algae-promoting nutrients from the pond water.

Floating plants

Water lilies (Nympaea species) are not only attractive, they are also very useful: They give shade and work against extreme water heating. Always plant water lilies in planting baskets and add a good root fertiliser for the roots to take well ( JBL FloraPond ). Between May and October they are in full bloom.

There are more floating-leaf plants to choose from. The water hawthorn (Aponogeton distachyos) from South Africa is not really hardy but it is still a very beautiful and useful plant with attractive floating leaves.

Some attractive floating plants like the water cabbage and water hyacinths are not hardy and need to hibernate indoors.

Shellflower and water hyacinth

Companion pond plants

The mare's tail (Hippuris vulgaris) is a plant which quickly spreads and absorbs a lot of nutrients from the water. Its dense growth houses a huge fauna of small animals.

The water knotweed (Persicaria amphibia) and the fringed water lily (Nymphoides peltata) are beautiful additions or alternatives, too.

Nymphoides peltata

Duckweeds, water caltrops and water soldiers are also hardy.

Duckweed
Water pineapple

Marsh plants

Shallow water plants (5-40 cm water depth): These plant species tolerate varying water levels and even survive outside the water for a short time. Galingale (Cyperus longus), common water-plantain (Alisma plantago-aquatica), dwarf bulrush (Typha minima), marsh-marigold (Caltha palustris) and many others belong to this group.

Water plantains (Alisma plantago-aquatica)
Marsh-marigold (Caltha palustris)

We know bulrush species from lakesides. They look very decorative in domestic ponds but their spread needs to be prevented before they suppress all other species. This is perfectly doable with planting bowls.

Themenwelt

Pflanzenarten für Gartenteiche

Welche Pflanzenarten sind die richtigen für Ihren Teich?

Die Pflanzen Ihrer Sumpfzone am Teich können Sie frei nach Ihrem Farbgeschmack wählen. Aber es gibt auch allgemein ein paar Dinge bei der Pflanzenwahl zu beachten.

Was ist schön?

An erster Stelle steht natürlich Ihr persönliches ästhetisches Empfinden. Blütenfarben- und Formen sowie Pflanzenwuchs ist vollkommen Ihrem Geschmack überlassen. Schlau ist es, sich über die Blütezeiten der Pflanzen zu informieren und über einen Pflanzplan eine Abfolge der Blütezeiten aufzustellen, so dass nicht alles auf einmal, sondern nacheinander blüht.

Nützliche Teichpflanzen

Noch wichtiger als Schönheit ist der Nutzen der Pflanzen. Welche Pflanzen entziehen dem Wasser besonders viele Nährstoffe, so dass die Algen keine Chance mehr haben, welche Pflanzen säubern das Wasser, welche sorgen für Schatten usw.

Unterwasserpflanzen

Das Tausendblatt (Myriophyllum) besitzt sogar eine antibiotische Wirkung und senkt die Keimzahl im Wasser, so dass der Infektionsdruck auf die Fische sinkt! Ihre Fische bekommen nicht so schnell Infektionen.

Myriophyllum

Sie können heutzutage vom Frühjahr bis zum Herbst bepflanzen, da die Pflanzen in Gewächshäusern kultiviert und in Pflanzcontainern geliefert werden. Nur Frost und die einsetzende Welke im Herbst bilden die Grenzen.

Beginnen Sie mit der Bepflanzung der Tiefenzone Ihres Teiches, denn noch können Sie ohne Kollateralschaden über die Sumpfzone laufen, um an die tieferen Bereiche zu gelangen. Hornkraut (Ceratophyllum demersum) ist eine schnellwachsende Unterwasserpflanze, die auch im Teichboden überwintert.

Ceratophyllum demersum

Das Tausendblatt (Myriophyllum spicatum) wirkt, wie schon beschrieben, antibiotisch und entgiftend. Die Wasserpest-Arten (Egeria densa und Elodea canadensis) wachsen sehr schnell und entziehen damit dem Teichwasser sehr viele algenfördernde Nährstoffe.

Schwimmpflanzen

Seerosen (Nymphaea-Arten) sind nicht nur hübsch, sondern auch sehr nützlich: Sie spenden Schatten und wirken so im Hochsommer einer zu starken Wassererwärmung entgegen. Seerosen bitte immer in Pflanzkörbe pflanzen und mit einem guten Wurzeldünger zum gesunden Anwachsen versehen ( JBL FloraPond ). Zwischen Mai und Oktober stehen sie dann in voller Blüte.

Es gibt noch weitere Schwimmblattpflanzen, die Ihnen zur Auswahl stehen. Die Wasserähre (Aponogeton distachyos ) aus Südafrika ist nicht wirklich winterhart, aber eine schöne und nützliche Pflanze mit schönen Schwimmblättern.

Einige attraktive Schwimmpflanzen wie die Muschelblume und Wasserhyazinthen sind nicht winterhart und müssen drinnen überwintern.

Muschelblume und Wasserhyazinthen

Ergänzende Teichpflanzen

Mit dem Tannenwedel (Hippuris vulgaris) erhalten Sie eine Pflanze, die sich schnell ausbreitet und viele Nährstoffe aus dem Wasser zieht. Ihr dichter Wuchs beherbergt eine enorme Kleintierfauna.

Auch der Wasserknöterich (Persicaria amphibia) und die Seekanne (Nymphoides peltata) sind schöne Ergänzungen bzw. Alternativen.

Nymphoides peltata

Winterhart wären auch Wasserlinsen, Wassernuss und Krebsschere.

Wasserlinsen
Krebsschere

Sumpfpflanzen

Flachwasserpflanzen (5-40 cm Wassertiefe): Diese Pflanzenarten vertragen wechselnde Wasserstände und überleben auch einmal eine Zeit, in der sie nicht im Wasser stehen. Zyperngras (Cyperus longus), Froschlöffel (Alisma plantago-aquatica), Zwergrohrkolben (Typha minima), Sumpfdotterblumen (Caltha palustris) und viele weitere gehören zu dieser Gruppe.

Froschlöffel (Alisma plantago-aquatica)
Sumpfdotterblumen (Caltha palustris)

Rohrkolbenarten kennen wir von vielen Seen. Am heimischen Teich sind sie sehr dekorativ, müssen aber an der Ausbreitung gehindert werden, da sie sonst andere Arten einfach überwuchern. Mit Pflanzschalen ist dies gut möglich.