JBL with Political Facts: New CITES Decisions

Are you familiar with the CITES decisions and do you know which animals are not allowed to be traded without CITES certificate? In the CITES (Convention on International Trade in Endangered Species of Wild Fauna and Flora) convention, also called the Washington Convention, about 5,600 animal and 30,000 plant species are listed which are currently under protection. In appendices the species are divided in three categories according to their requirements of protection. Species listed in Appendix 1 are the most threatened ones and their trade is prohibited. Species in Appendix 2 are threatened but trading is allowed with a clearance certificate of the exporting country. Species of Appendix 3 need an export licence of the respective country.

On February 01, 2017 new regulations were published which were adopted into EU law during the 17th Conference of the Parties to CITES. The popular turquoise dwarf gecko (L. williamsi), the psychedelic rock gecko (C. psychedelica) and some arboreal alligator lizards were added to Appendix A. Newly added to Appendix B were: many softshell turtles (Cyclanorbis & Trionyx triunguis, Rafetus euphraticus), the Kenyan horn viper, the Mount Kenya bush viper, the Paroedura masobe, the Hong Kong warty newt and tomato frogs (Dyscophus antongilii). Two pieces of information for aquarium owners: new in Appendix B are all nautili and the Clarion angelfish (Holacanthus clarionensis) from the Eastern Pacific Ocean. Anyone already keeping these animals should notify the relevant authorities as soon as possible.

© 07.03.2017 JBL GmbH & Co. KG